“The Temp” By Chris Zito

We really got spoiled around here the last few years. Kimi quit her job to stay home with Vince. I worked on morning radio and made enough to pay the bills. I was pretty good at my job. Kimi was absolutely spectacular at hers. Vince thrived, the house looked great, and man alive-the meals!!! She was exhausted.


“I wonder if the rock quarry is hiring. I need a break!”

Vince’s mom stayed home with him from the time he was about 20 months old until he was 4 1/2. Pretty good run by today’s standards. We did a poll of the family and found that %100 of respondents loved the arrangement. It all came to a screeching halt shortly after I left (got fired from) radio. I leapt back into stand up comedy and auditioning. Kimberly reentered the workforce.


Kimberly finished up a few home repairs before going back to the office.

I was naturally disappointed. Gone were the home cooked meals. Gone was Vince’s constant companion. Gone was my free pass on helping with laundry.


I’m supposed to repair this thing not use it!
(BTW- I realize that isn’t me in the pic, but I’m the blogger and I pick the images so live with it!)

Kimberly is a desktop publisher. If you don’t know what that is, let’s just say she works on a computer all day. I’ve watched her try to explain the job to people and their eyes glaze over with that “I-was-just-making-friendly-conversation-and-now-this-woman-is-speaking-in-tongues” look. My wife registered with a couple of temp agencies and the work began. Her resume and portfolio got her in the door. Her work kept the assignments coming. Much of it she gets to do from home. All of it keeps her from making lunch.


At mealtimes it’s hard to say which is the bigger whiner, me or Vince.

When I met Kimi she was a woman with her own house, her own car, her own money. I know. Sexy. She gave all that up to share her life with Vince and me. She did it willingly and happily. She loves us in that action verb kind of way. But when she started temping she got this look in her eye I hadn’t seen in a while. She was learning again. She was producing something. This is hers. And she loves that too. Ah, what the hell. I’m a big boy. I can make my own lunch.

Thanks for reading. Tell your pals.
Chris Zito

7 Responses

  1. You are awesome Chris!! You two compliment each other like peanut butter does chocolate!! Love it!!

  2. My sweeties… miss you already.

  3. You being fired from the radio station was the biggest mistake 103 ever made. You and KB were terrific and she is great by herself but………………. you were the difference.
    Good luck to you and Kimi and Vince.

  4. very cool insight to your wife …us women love the big boys šŸ™‚

  5. Fired!!! I miss you on the radio – you and Jen were awesome together.
    Didn’t know that is why you left, but miss hearing your voice in the am…..
    (Now I sound creepy like a stalker! LOL) But was just a fan from xlo, didn;t get to hear you on 103 except a couple of times..

  6. It’s great to hear that tough economic times aren’t always bad… sometimes it’s a blessing, and other times, it’s just how you look at it. Comedy helps šŸ™‚

  7. cute dude. maybe a little less pictures.. and more jokes. let’s go Zito ! hehe.

Leave a Reply

