“Advanced Degree” By Chris Zito

My daughter got her master’s degree last week and is headed for a PhD. That’s a lot more school than her old man ever attended. I got to college, couldn’t find a parking space, went home.


Admittedly, I could have looked a little longer.

Jessie is the person who truly changed my life once and for all as my first-born. She was a surprise for sure. “Unplanned but never unwanted” I’ve always said.  Her mother and I got married right away. The wedding photos looked more like prom photos.


I had just started coloring in the lines when I became a father.

Jessie and her husband Andrew have their own house. They’ve known each other for 12 years and have lived in exactly 3 places together. Another difference between us. When Mrs. Thompson’s mother and I were younger we moved every year. EVERY year. The reason was simple. The rent would go up so we’d have to move to an even shittier apartment. Ah, simpler times!


We got turned down for this palace.

Of all the things I am my favorite thing is Dad. And I have Jessica to thank for first giving me the job. Its her own determination and brains that brought her where she is. I’ll take a little slice of credit since I did feed and clothe the child but let’s face it, that was just to keep the authorities from getting involved.

Thanks for reading. Tell your pals.
Chris Zito

One Response

  1. Hey Chris, I’m a new subscriber and what a great surprise to see this post about Jessica. Keep up the good work with the next generation!

Leave a Reply

