“Happy Anniversary” By Chris Zito

Nine years ago today Kimberly and I got married. I’m sure she appreciates all your prayers over the years. Come to think of it so do I. Most women would have killed me in my sleep by now.


“Please, Lord. We don’t know what she was thinking either,
but help her make the best of it.”

Kimberly and I had known each other for a while by the time we got married. We had lived together for nearly a year much too soon after my first marriage ended and it turned out badly. Felix Unger badly. I wore my friends out talking about Kimberly after the break up. I dated women that looked like Kimberly. I wrote her name over and over again on my math notebook. No wait, that might have been Sue Foresinksy in the eighth grade. It’s all such a painful blur!!!


I had been through a divorce but never a broken heart.

For nearly three years we had virtually no contact. There was a brief period after I got custody of the kids where she called to congratulate me and we talked a few times. When I finally gave up on the idea of not being with her I reached out online of all places and got a good response. Much had changed for both of us. I had a house, a good job, and much less hair.  The first two things most women like in a husband. Luckily for me, Kimi was able to accept the third.


No seriously, is it worse? Go on tell me. I can take it.

On our wedding day I stood up there with my dad and my son at my side and watched her walk down the aisle toward our life together. My daughter did a beautiful reading during the ceremony. Kimi’s mother (Saint Dot) gave her away and when she did, kissed me and whispered, “welcome to the family.” At the reception her sister gave a toast and spent much of it making fun of me for crying during the wedding and I had it coming. After dinner we spent the entire time on the dance floor. We just couldn’t stop! If I danced half that much nowadays I’d still fit into that suit. Those shoes don’t even fit me anymore.


Actually the last time I fit into this suit I was 15.

I am the father of three so I can’t say our wedding day was the happiest day of my life. But it’s certainly in the top four. Happy Anniversary, Kimi.

Thanks for reading. Tell your pals.
Chris Zito

3 Responses

  1. Again I say… I married one romantic man.

  2. Kimberly deserves every bit of love you have for her. This was beautiful Chris! Congratulations to you both, Shawn and I are both so very happy for you.

  3. brought me to tears, again.
    happy anniversary. you are both beautiful!

Leave a Reply

