What’s Today’s Number? by Chris Zito

As soon as my eyes open my heart rate starts to climb. My mind races. For a moment I can’t move.

It’s weigh-in day.

Weigh-in day is nerve-racking. Even if I’ve stayed on the plan, things can go wrong. What if the scale malfunctions?

My bathroom scale can’t always be trusted. Like when it reads higher than I think it should. Some mornings I’ll step on it, get the “wrong” weight and then back off and try again. And again. There are mornings when I get different readings by standing in a different position on the scale. On those mornings I go for best 2 out of 3.

Today I was at 202.8. Three times in a row.

Next step is to enter the number on the Weight Watchers site.  I do the whole thing online. No meetings. Just the website, the scale, and plenty of raw broccoli.
My wife is on board with the first two, but is always eventually unhappy about the broccoli.

It’s extremely important to keep the weigh-in attire consistent.  A different belt can cost you. Jeans instead of cotton pants will kill you.
I go with naked.

Which is why I stick to the online program and avoid the meetings. You’re welcome.

Thanks for reading. Tell your pals.
-Chris Zito

2 Responses

  1. That’s what I dislike about weighing in… the number on the scale is not something you can directly control. I do weigh myself, but I look at how clothes fit and stuff like that instead. I can directly control what I eat, how far I run, etc… One of my favorite quotes is “Losing weight doesn’t do very much, except make me weigh less.”

    Not to say what you’re doing isn’t AWESOME! Because it totally is… but I’m just saying, if the scale ever decides to go renegade on you – don’t worry about it. 🙂

    • I agree. I always get the feedback about, “make sure you following your healthy checks.” If I keep eating right and moving, I slim down. Duh!

Leave a Reply

